6th Grade social studies curriculum

The following links outline the Virginia Standards of Learning for each unit of study. Please note that the Historical Thinking unit will be practiced and revisited periodically all year long, where as the other units will be addressed as individual units of study sequentially throughout the year, beginning with Geography 2a Oceans & Continents:

  1. Historical Thinking

  2. Geography

  3. Early North American Cultures

  4. Exploration

  5. Colonial America

  6. American Revolution

  7. Our New Nation

  8. Westward Expansion

  9. Civil War

For detailed curriculum information in its entirety, you may visit the PWCS 6th Grade Social Studies page or US History to 1865 Curriculum Framework.